A summer of DIY: kite-making, aerial photography, and spectrometry [PART 1]

February 3, 2017 § Leave a comment

I have been interested in citizen science for several years, so I am very excited to have just discovered this blog! I will return and read more soon!

Extreme Citizen Science blog

I like anything DIY… it makes me feel more self-sufficient, which in turn gives me a sense of self-reliance: I just love knowing “I could make that if I need to”.”

Copying out the blueprint of the DIY delta kite onto sheets of Tyvek Copying out the blueprint of the DIY delta kite onto sheets of Tyvek

This, was indeed a joyous summer, endowed not only with delightful weather but with the visit of the Public Lab to London. Between August and September this year we planned and deployed five free-of-charge and fully hands-on initiatives of public engagement and in the spirit of discovering, understanding the world in our own terms, and DIY prototyping, we met 28 wonderful people whose experience I briefly share here.

The first initiative took place on Parliament Hill, within Hampstead Heath. Through learning by doing we introduced DIY aerial photography using kites. Over the course of the afternoon members of the public learned about the applications…

View original post 755 more words

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A summer of DIY: kite-making, aerial photography, and spectrometry [PART 1] at dropitintheocean.

meta

