I do a lot of i…

May 25, 2013 § Leave a comment

I do a lot of interviews where people ask, “Now that you’re all happy and content are you going to lose your edge?” Like there’s nothing edgy about being a mom. Which means that as we all become parents, songs are not written for us anymore, and we have to relive our youth to get off on music or something. Where is the music of where you get older? To be content and secure in your personal life doesn’t make you lose your edge so much. For me it almost gives me more fuel to be radical, to be political, to be fighting the good fight because you have something to stand on. When you’re all wrapped up in your personal foibles it’s hard to have any energy for changing the world or whatever. But now I feel more energized because I have that support system behind me.

From an interview with Ani DiFranco available here – http://bitchmagazine.org/post/mom-pop-culture-an-interview-with-ani-difranco

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I do a lot of i… at dropitintheocean.

meta

